Ed Norris: Thanks Canelo

CBS Baltimore

If you are a regular listener of the Norris and Davis Show then you’re aware that boxing was my favorite sport in my early years.

As a kid I bought Ring magazine every month and knew every champ and contender in every weight class. I was also a light heavyweight amateur boxer in my teens. I loved the sport and remained faithful until it became nearly impossible with the ridiculous number of weight classes and belts, among other more sinister problems.

I was terribly disappointed as were many other fans that the Mayweather-Pacquiao fight did nothing to push the sport forward to regain some of the lost luster. If anything it probably made people swear off boxing PPV for life.

A week later, Canelo Alvarez fought James Kirkland and this was everything the “Fight of the Century ” wasn’t. Kirkland is a powerful man with a professional record of 31-2…

View original post 127 more words

Leave a Reply

